Lisbon Region

Center-South Region of Portugal. Capital: Évora - Occupying an area of 31,551 km² and with a population of more than half a million inhabitants, Alentejo is the largest region of Portugal and comprises Alto Alentejo, Central Alentejo, Baixo Alentejo and Alentejo Litoral.

Lisbon Region, Guide to Portugal

According to an ancient and current division of the territory, there was only the Alto Alentejo, whose capital is the city of Évora and the Baixo Alentejo, whose capital is the city of Beja.

Évora, the Capital of Alentejo

Located in Alentejo Central, the city of Évora, is the Capital of the Alentejo.

Districts of Alentejo

The Alentejo comprises the following districts:

District of Portalegre

Portalegre belongs to the Alto Alentejo. There are 15 municipalities (counties) of the district.

District of Beja

The district of Beja comprises 14 municipalities (counties)

District of Setúbal

The following (coming soon) municipalities of the District of Setúbal are part of Alentejo Litoral.

+ Estremadura

Sports in Portugal... more

Travel around Portugal

You can visit Portugal all year round... more

Tips for visitors

Follow our tips and make the most of your stay in Portugal!

Top Cities

Greater Lisbon

In addition to the largest urban agglomeration in the country (Lisbon), Sintra, Cascais, Loures, Almada and Oeiras complete the podium of the Top 5 largest cities in Portugal.

Great Port

In the north of the country, in Greater Porto, other important cities are Vila Nova de Gaia, Braga, Matosinhos, Gondomar and Guimarães.

Learn more

Main cities

Guide Highlights

+ Portugal



Travel around Portugal