River Douro. Douro Wine Region

Douro Litoral, Alto Douro, Douro Superior
Spanish and Portuguese river. The third most important in the Iberian Peninsula, after the Tagus (Center of Portugal) and the Ebro (Navarra, Spain). In the northwest region of this same peninsula, it is the most important.

Its source is in Fuentes del Duero, south side of the peak Urbión (Duruelo de la Sierra, province of Soria) in Spain, about 2160 meters above sea level. Of its almost 900 km long (897 km, to be exact), more than half (572 km) run in Spanish territory. In other words, it is a river that is more Spanish than Portuguese. 112 km are considered international territory, as they accompany stretch of the border between the two countries. And, in Portuguese territory, it is exactly 213 km until it flows into the Atlantic Ocean, between the cities of Porto (right bank) and Vila Nova de Gaia (left bank).

Heritage of Humanity

Despite crossing regions of great beauty in Spanish territory, the great wonder of the Douro, however, is in Portuguese territory. Nature's gift, undoubtedly. However, it was the work of man, for centuries, that shaped this beautiful valley, making it a true treasure in terms of natural beauty. Which is why, with great justice, Unesco classified part of this magnificent valley - the Douro Vinhateiro - Heritage of Humanity.

Douro Valley Landscape © / CC
Douro Valley Landscape © / CC

Mountains and Valleys

In Spanish territory, the Duero crosses the provinces of Soria, Burgos, Valladolid, Zamora and Salamanca. After the 112 km border between the two countries, with Miranda do Douro on its right bank, the Douro enters Portugal just before the town of Barca d'Alva.

From Barca d'Alva to Porto, it is 210 km, passing through the cities of Vila Nova de Foz Côa, São João da Pesqueira, Lamego, Peso da Régua, Pinhão, Gondomar, Vila Nova de Gaia (left bank) and, finally, Porto (right bank).

When speaking of Douro, reference is made to:

1. Douro River

2. Douro River Valley

3. Alto Douro or Douro Wine Region

4. Douro Superior

5. Douro wine

Northern region of Portugal. Capital: Porto

The region Douro Litoral is formed by 23 municipalities, most of them in the district of Porto.

The territory of this former region comprises the following districts and municipalities:

District of Porto

Marco de Canaveses
Paços de Ferreira
Póvoa de Varzim
Santo Tirso
Vila do Conde
Vila Nova de Gaia

District of Aveiro

Castelo de Paiva
Santa Maria da Feira

District of Viseu


Top Cities

Greater Lisbon

In addition to the largest urban agglomeration in the country (Lisbon), Sintra, Cascais, Loures, Almada and Oeiras complete the podium of the Top 5 largest cities in Portugal.

Great Port

In the north of the country, in Greater Porto, other important cities are Vila Nova de Gaia, Braga, Matosinhos, Gondomar and Guimarães.

Learn more

Main cities

Guide Highlights

Guide to Portugal


Travel around Portugal


Tips for visitors

Travel Tips