Best Of

The High Beira (Beira Alta), is a traditional province created in 1832 that today belongs to the Center Region. Capital: Viseu.

Guia de Portugal

Detail Viseu Cathedral © Antonio Sacchetti / Images of Portugal

The old Beira Alta Province, located in the northeast of Portugal, is formed by the districts of Viseu and Guarda and comprises 32 municipalities. See Municipalities of Beira Alta.

Star Mountain

In the lands of Beira Alta, the main highlight is the Serra da Estrela (Star Mountain), which reaches 2000 m altitude (Torre Peak), with its landscapes of rare beauty, covered with snow for most of the year and, above all, in its rigorous Winter. This mountain is famous for its cheese - increasingly rare, unfortunately - the Serra da Estrela cheese.

Beira Plateau

Planalto da Beira (Beira Plateau) - Its geography is characterized by being a plateau surrounded by mountains (Cordillera Central) and crossed, to the southwest, by the Mondego River. Pines and eucalyptus, ubiquitous, as well as oaks, cover the spaces that agriculture contests, with apple trees - High Beira (Beira Alta) is the Land of the Apple - and vineyard culture in the northern terraces of the region.

High Beira (Beira Alta) borders the east with the Province of Salamanca (Spain). To the north, with High Douro (Alto Douro) and Trás-os-Montes, to the northwest with Douro Litoral, to the west / southwest with Beira Litoral and to the south with Low Beira (Beira Baixa).

The Beiras


A Beira Alta, cuja capital é a cidade de Viseu, está situada no nordeste da Região Centro.

Coimbra, importante centro universitário, capital da Beira Litoral e da Região Centro; já foi capital de Portugal. Com pouco mais de 143.000 habitantes, é a cidade mais populosa do Centro.

Aveiro é a segunda maior cidade da Região Centro.

A Beira Baixa, cuja capital é a cidade de Castelo Branco, está situada no sudeste da Região Centro.

Sub-regiões do Centro

Este vasto espaço, com 100 municípios, compreende as seguintes sub-regiões:

Pinhal Interior Norte (Lousã)

Baixo Mondego (Coimbra)

Baixo Vouga (Aveiro)

Dão-Lafões (Viseu)

Beira Interior Norte (Guarda)

Serra da Estrela (Gouveia)

Cova da Beira (Covilhã)

Beira Interior Sul (Castelo Branco)

Pinhal Interior Sul (Sertã)

Médio Tejo (Tomar)

Oeste (Caldas da Rainha)